Saturday, August 15, 2009


As promised, in this last entry to introduce you to the Arcade ruleset (and help me to define the frame of it), I'll explain how scores are assigned to the different stats.

First of all, any creature (hero, npc, monster) would be assigned a level; and levels are assigned certain "construction" points. The higher the level, more points. This is the level/points chart I've sketched so far (note it's not a linear progression):
Level 1: 10 points
Level 2: 15 points
Level 3: 21 points
Level 4: 28 points
Level 5: 36 points
Level 6: 45 points
Level 7: 55 points
Level 8: 66 points
Level 9: 78 points
Level 10: 91 points

With these points you can buy stats, at the following costs. Most combat stats cost two construction points, because they are a matter of life and death: HP, MAR, MDR, RAR and RDR. The other combat stats as well as skills stats are cheaper, needing only one point: MOV, INI, FOR, AGI, PER, DEX, INT, KNO and SOC.
In Ajsalium, class powers will cost from 1 to 3 points, depending on how useful they are. Magical Resistance's cost is two points; Mana Points are cheaper, just one point.
In Necronomicon, investigative specializations will cost two points (as it's an investigative game, I deem reasonable to make them somewhat expensive, as they'll be the most used stats). Sanity Points will cost one point.
In Galaxtar, skill specialities will cost one point.

It's important to know that there's a "level 0 template". Said template has a minimum of attributes that make something exists, and so you don't need to spend points in acquiring, for example, the first HP, or the first three MOV points. Also, monsters may range from level 1/4 to 15, with the following points assignation:
Level 1/4: 3 points
Level 1/2: 6 points
Level 11: 105 points
Level 12: 120 points
Level 13: 136 points
Level 14: 153 points
Level 15: 171 points

Lastly, some differences between the different settings in which these rules are to be used:
Ajsalium is created with an old-style flavour. That means two things: it will feature legendary heroes, ranging from levels 1 to 10. Also, they are divided in different classes, and I plan to provide exact stats for every class at every level. In other words, PCs will be pre-generated, and you'll only have to copy the stats in a blank character sheet.
Necronomicon is very different in style. The PCs are not heroes, but ordinary people facing the inexplicable. That will be translated, rules-wise, in only having levels 2 and 3 (level 1 would make them too helpless, even for my taste!). Also, there are not classes. So, players will be given the adequate points (15 or 21), and they can use them to create their character as they see fit. Some restriction rules may be added to avoid unbalanced PCs.
Galaxtar will work out in a similar way to Necronomicon. But as it's more action oriented, there will be three levels to choose from: 2, 4 and 6 (15, 28 and 45 points, respectively). That should allow for the cinematographic action so fashionable nowadays. In theory, and as of today, there won't be classes, but freedom to create PCs as wanted. Yet, so far I can only think of adventures created for policemen, soldiers, mercenaries or criminals; so I may at the very least create the pre-generated versions of those professions.


  1. I have started to write three sample characters (one for each of the settings), so that you can have an almost playable preview of what the games will be like. In doing so I've realized that the amount of construction points assigned are too low. To correct that I'll be moving everything one level; i.e. a first level character will get the points originally assigned to a second level one, and successively so. I hope that will be enough, although it may be the case that I'll need to move them a further level.

  2. After rearranging the construction points per level I went back to creating some characters. The one for the Ajsalium setting went OK, but with the other two, for Necronomicon and Galaxtar, I found a shortage of construction points. I solved this problem, kind of, by using a different "level 0 template" for these two settings, one in which the movement is already 5 (so you save two points), and RAR starts at one (so you save other two points); in Necronomicon, the first SP will be free (yet two more disposable points). Finally, in Necronomicon I lowered the specialities cost from two to one point. Not too happy with this, so I may change something again (dunno what).